Home Uncategorized Sachin – From Cricket to Politics

Sachin – From Cricket to Politics

by Oracle

Should the Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar accept his nomination to the Rajya Sabha? Well there are assorted views on Sachin’s position as a politician. Cricketers after their cricketing career either become commentators or umpires and some even movie stars. Now let’s check out the cricketers who have turned to politics.

Imran Khan

Pakistani skipper (World Cup winning captain) became the chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf after bidding farewell to cricket. But if truth be told he is unsuccessful in the field of politics.

Imran Khan - Chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf

Arjuna Ranatunga

After retiring from world cricket he became a part of Chandrika Kumaratunga’s Sri Lanka Freedom Party.   He also served as the Deputy Minister of Tourism for Sri Lanka.

Arjuna Ranatunga during a Parliamentary Session at Colombo

Mohammed Azharuddin

Azharuddin became the member of the Congress party. He won the 2009 general elections from Moradabad in Uttar Pradesh.

Cricketer Turned Politician -Mohammed Azharuddin

Vinod Kambli

His comeback didn’t prove profitable and so was his entry into politics.  He joined Lok Bharathi party and contested from Vikhroli but he wasn’t victorious.

Vinod Kambli displaying his Party Flag Lok Bharathi

Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi

As a politician Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi was unsuccessful. He was the candidate of the Congress party and he contested from Bhopal only to meet disappointment.

Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi - Cricketer Turned Politician

Manoj Prabhakar

Manoj Prabhakar was jammed in match fixing scandal and he was debarred by the Indian Cricket Board.  His role as a politician was not rewarding as he contested from New Delhi and he lost.

Manoj Prabhakar - Role as Politician - Not Rewarding

Navjot Singh Sidhu

Navjot Singh Sidhu after retiring from international cricket took up varied roles as a commentator,  reality show judge and he was also very full of life as a politician.  He contested from Amritsar and he defeated his rival by a massive margin.

Navjot singh Sidhu - Plunge from Cricket to Politics

Sanath Jayasuriya

Sanath Jayasuriya contested from his hometown Matara and he became an MP.

Sanath Jayasuriya - MP from his Hometown Matara