Home Opinions Singh was King Last Year! Who is the King of IPL this Time?

Singh was King Last Year! Who is the King of IPL this Time?

by Oracle

The IPL teams have gone through a complete makeover in comparison to the past seasons. But, one question that still lurks around, Did the reshuffle  change the outlook of the teams both on paper and performance? Well there is only one answer and thats a big ’NO’. Just over two weeks through the tournament, but the take on the question, who will be the ace of spades? is still murky!

So far it’s been a mixed performance by the giants namely, Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore. Unfortunately, RCB seems to be too dependent on the Gayle hurricane that makes their balance too much tilted to a side. This time around Rajasthan royals and Pune warriors seem to be springing surprises with some stellar performances so far. In spite of some inexperience bowling attack RR has shown courage, reminding us time and again the underdogs winning the crown in the first season.

Some gritty collective performance by PWI under the dynamics of Sourav Ganguly makes the team to be the one to watch out for. Unfortunately, Kings XI Punjab and Deccan Charges are still trying to find their way in this season in spite of impressive names in their lineup. Kolkata Knight Riders seem to be rejuvenated, but, is still awaiting cracker show from their million dollar babies (Gautam Gambhir and Yousuf Pathan).

Bolstered by the availability of Kevin Pieterson and some sharp pace bowling, Delhi Daredevils stands to be an intimidating side. CSK, MI and DD teams are known for their batting prowess and variety in their bowling attack. Batting collapses has been a feature of MI seems to haunt CSK this season when they collapsed twice to fold under 120. Though, the two time champs CSK is a well balanced side, the slow starts indicate that they are not in their best. While Mahi trying to cast his spell again, Viru, Sourav, Bajji and Dravid are racing hard to win the crown and make their teams the new kings of IPL.

Related Articles