List of Wisden Cricketers from the Year 1980 to 1989


Annual Publication Wisden Cricketers Almanack honors the preeminent cricketers of the year.  They started awarding the cricketers since the year 1889 by naming ‘Six Great Bowlers of the Year’ and then in 1990, they named ‘Nine Great Batsmen of the year’. At the outset, the awards were given on the player’s performance in the foregoing season at England but after 2000 it was given based on the performance in international cricket.

Sunil Gavaskar - Wisden Cricketer of the Year 1980

Here is the list of Wisden Cricketers from the Year 1980 to 1989

  • 1980 – Joel Garner, Sunil Gavaskar, Graham Gooch, Derek Randall and  Brian Rose
  • 1981 -Kim Hughes, Robin Jackman, Allan Lamb, Clive Rice and Vintcent van der Bijl
  • 1982 – Terry Alderman, Allan Border, Richard Hadlee, Javed Miandad and Rod Marsh
  • 1983 – Imran Khan, Trevor Jesty, Alvin Kallicharran, Kapil Dev and Malcolm Marshall
  • 1984 – Mohinder Amarnath, Jeremy Coney, John Emburey, Mike Gatting and Chris Smith
  • 1985 -Martin Crowe, Larry Gomes, Geoff Humpage, Jack Simmons and Sidath Wettimuny
  • 1986 – Phil Bainbridge, Richard Ellison, Craig McDermott, Neal Radford and Tim Robinson
  • 1987 – John Childs, Graeme Hick, Dilip Vengsarkar, Courtney Walsh and James Whitaker
  • 1988 – Jonathan Agnew, Neil Foster, David Hughes, Peter Roebuck and  Saleem Malik
  • 1989 – Kim Barnett, Jeff Dujon, Phil Neale, Franklyn Stephenson and Steve Waugh
Steve Waugh - Wisden Cricketer of the Year 1989




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *